17.02.2011, 11:57
Women’s EHF EURO 2012 registration

The European national federations can register for the competition until 17 March 2011.

Women’s EHF EURO 2012 registration

From today, the registration period for the 2012 EHF Women’s European Championship in the Netherlands has started. All the national federations of the European Handball Federation wishing to participate are invited to register by 17 March 2011.

The final tournament will take place between 2 and 16 December 2012.

Participating teams

The final round of the EHF EURO 2012 in the Netherlands will be played with a total of 16 teams. Two teams – organising country Netherlands and defending champions Norway – have directly qualified for the final tournament. All other registered teams will have to participate in the qualification for the final tournament.

The in total available 14 places will be played out in the qualification, divided into Phase 1 and Phase 2.

Qualification Modus

The draw for the qualification Phase 2 is planned to take place on 27 April 2011 in Leek/NED. The detailed procedure of the draw will be published once the number of participating teams is available.

Phase 1 of the EHF EURO 2012 Qualification will basically be played in tournaments at one venue on 3-5 June 2011.

The playing schedule of Phase 2 is based on the assumption of 7 groups of 4 teams and would be played in 6 qualification rounds. The teams finishing in first and second place will qualify to the final tournament.

Basic match schedule for Phase 2

Round 1: 19-20 October 2011
Round 2: 22-23 October 2011

Round 3: 21-22 March 2012
Round 4: 24-25 March 2012

Round 5: 30-31 May 2012
Round 6: 02-03 June 2012

Pots and Seeding

The teams will be seeded based on the EHF National Team Ranking valid for the EHF EURO 2012 Qualification. This list contains the results at major events of the last three years, including EHF EURO 2008 in FYR Macedonia, World Championships 2009 in China and EHF EURO 2010 in Denmark and Norway.

All teams qualified for the 2011 World Championship Qualification Europe Play-offs are directly qualified for Phase 2 of the EHF EURO 2012 Qualification.

Pot 1: Russia, Romania, Spain, France, Denmark, Sweden, Germany
Pot 2: Hungary, Croatia, Montenegro, Ukraine, FYR Macedonia, Austria, Serbia
Pot 3: Belarus, Slovakia, Portugal, Iceland, Slovenia, Turkey, Poland
Pot 4 and participation in Phase 1 depends on the final number of registered teams

Further Qualification

The three best ranked teams at the EHF EURO 2012 will qualify directly for the 2013 Women's World Championship in Serbia (IHF Event).


Content Copyright by the European Handball Federation and EHF Marketing (c) 1994-2019