21.06.2011, 09:55
IHF/EHF 2011 Men's Challenge Trophy

The eight teams participating in Malta and Ireland were drawn into two groups.

IHF/EHF 2011 Men's Challenge Trophy

The IHF/EHF Challenge Trophy, supported by the International Handball Federation, gives national teams of emerging or developing handball nations the chance to compete in an international competition. 2011 will see the 7th edition of the men’s competition.

The IHF/EHF Challenge Trophy is played in two tournaments, which will take place from 04 to 06 November 2011 and will be carried out in Ireland and in Malta.


A draw based on the seeding of teams took place and divided the teams to the two venues.

Group 1 in Ireland

  • Georgia
  • Faroe Islands
  • England
  • Ireland

Group 2 in Malta

  • Moldova
  • Azerbaijan
  • Scotland
  • Malta

The winners of the two events will go through to a final match, which will be played in the Pionir Arena, Belgrade (SRB), on Thursday 19 January 2012 within the framework of the EHF EURO 2012.

Age limit

Per the decision of the EHF Executive Committee there is an age limit: only players that are 23 years old or younger (born 1988 or later) are eligible to participate.

Referees and coaching course

On the occasion of the two IHF/EHF 2011 Men's Challenge Trophy tournaments, a referee course and a coaching course will be organised at both venues.


Content Copyright by the European Handball Federation and EHF Marketing (c) 1994-2018