15.10.2012, 03:00
Women´s EHF Cup Round 2, first leg review

Hungarian side ETV Érdi VSE first with a ticket to Round 3

Women´s EHF Cup Round 2, first leg review

After Spanish club Helvetia Bm. Alcobendas gained the ticket to the Round 3 of the Women´s EHF Cup by default wins against withdrawn Italian side D'Archivio Arche-Artro Teramo last week, the first club from the Round 2 qualified for the next round fixtures.

Hungarian club ETV Érdi VSE overcome a combined 17 goals performance by Natalia Vasileuskaya and beat Belarusia´s HC Gorodnichanka twice – 46:25 and 31:23 with both legs played in Hungary. The next opponent of the club from Érd will be last season´s participant  of the Women´s EHF Champions League Metz Handball from France.

The first leg of Round 3 is scheduled for 10/11 November, the second leg fixtures will be played one week later.

In other matches of Round 2, first leg the reigning Czech champions from DHC Sokol Poruba recorded a draw 23:23 with Russia´s Astrakhanochka in their first ever match in the European club competition. The hosts were trailing by five goals after the first half, but managed to level the score before the end.

Greece´s GAS Megas Alexandros Giannitson tied KHF Prishtina from Kosovo 27:27 and KGHM Metraco Zaglebie Lubin from Poland beat Croatia´s RK Zelina 22:18. Ukraine´s HC Karpaty Uzhgorod made a significant step to Round 3 by defeating Bulgaria´s HSC "Etar-64" Veliko Tarnovo.

The reigning trophy holders from HC Lada Togliatti are among the seeded teams for the Round 3 together with the last season´s runners-up HC Zalau from Romania, the Spanish champions and the winners of 2009 edition from Grupo Asfi Itxako Navarra, Danish winners of the 2011 Women´s EHF Cup from FC Midtjylland Handball, or the French side HAC Havre which won the Women's EHF Challenge Cup last season.

Further information
Find the results of the of the Women´s EHF Cup Round 2, first leg here

Photo: Petr Kotala

TEXT: EHF / br

Content Copyright by the European Handball Federation and EHF Marketing (c) 1994-2018