13.06.2013, 02:55
Hans Lindberg to play for Denmark at European Beach Handball Championship

The winner of the VELUX EHF Champions League with HSV Hamburg joins his country's national team for the European beach handball season highlight

Hans Lindberg to play for Denmark at European Beach Handball Championship

Hans Lindberg, top scorer of the VELUX EHF Champions League this season, will be part of the Danish team for the European Beach Handball Championship in Randers, Denmark, next month.

On Wednesday it became official that the 31-year-old right wing from Champions League winners HSV Hamburg, is ready to represent his country at the final tournament.

Lindberg, who is also a key player in the Danish indoor national team, is regarded as a crucial reinforcement to the Danish beach handball team, according to national coach Lars Møller

"We are talking about our top scorer at the European Championship two years ago, so it is obvious that he will be a great reinforcement to our team.

"Just like in indoor handball, Hans is also a star on the beach, and apart from contributing a lot himself, he will inevitably draw a lot of attention from the opponents, from which his teammates will be able to benefit," Lars Møller told eurohandball.com.

"However, I also see it as a great boost to the championship itself that a world star from the indoor scene such as Hans Lindberg chooses to play this tournament after a long indoor season.

"I am sure that his presence will mean a lot to the interest among the handball fans and draw a lot of extra spectators," Lars Møller added.

Hans Lindberg is one of the eight players Lars Møller announced for the European Championship on Wednesday.

The two remaining players for the Danish squad will be nominated after the Danish championship finals on June 22.

The eight players in the squad so far:

Jakob Krupsdahl (Ajax København) Hans Lindberg (HSV Hamburg) Mick Schubert (Ajax København) Jannick Mazur (Aarhus Håndbold) Simon Radoor (Ajax København) Jens Fredsgaard (HC Midtjylland) Christian Køhler (Ajax København) Mattias Suhr (Odder Håndbold)

TEXT: EHF / ts

Content Copyright by the European Handball Federation and EHF Marketing (c) 1994-2018