20.08.2013, 03:09
Croatia, Germany, Denmark and Spain reach semi-finals

The Men's Youth World Championship in Hungary reaches its final stages after the four semi-finalists were confirmed early on 20 August

Croatia, Germany, Denmark and Spain reach semi-finals

Denmark, defending champions at the Men's Youth World Championship in Hungary, have gained the chance to take revenge for the senior's team defeat to Spain in the final of the World Championship in January.

While the Scandinavian nation's under-19 team beat Norway 35-19, Spain narrowly held down Serbia 21:20 setting up a semi-final between the two teams for Wednesday night (21 August, 20:00 hrs local time).

The encounter will also be the re-match of the 2011 Youth World Championship final in which Denmark prevailed over Spain.

"I am deeply impressed by the effort the boys have shown here in the knockout matches at the World Championship," said Denmark's coach Claus Hansen after the quarter-final.

"And what I am most proud of is that the players remain focused and keep the level all the way through.

"They are deeply serious and they just want this here so much," continued Hansen. "So now it is important to keep fully focused as we have to play the semi-final on Wednesday night."

In the remaining two quarter-finals Croatia beat Sweden 27:22, while the match between Germany and Slovenia went into extra-time with the score at 29-all before the German side took home 37:32 victory.

Both semi-finals will be played on Wednesday night at 20:00 hrs local time. The bronze medal match and the final take place on Friday (23 August).

Follow all matches via a live stream

This is the fifth edition of the Men’s Youth World Championship, with all previous winners coming from Europe: Serbia-Montenegro (2005), Denmark (2007, 2011) and Croatia (2009).

24 teams take part in the event for the first time – and for the first time the world champion will directly qualify for the 2015 edition of the Junior World Championship.

Denmark are the defending champions after raising the trophy at the 2011 Youth World Championship in Argentina ahead of Spain and Sweden who took home silver and bronze respectively.

Germany are the reigning U18 European champions after winning the trophy in the final against Sweden in Austria in 2012, with Denmark picking up bronze.

Just like the junior event in Bosnia-Herzegovina, all matches can be followed live and free of charge on a live stream at the official tournament website.

Photos: Uros Hocevar / IHF

TEXT: EHF / ts

Content Copyright by the European Handball Federation and EHF Marketing (c) 1994-2018