04.08.2014, 09:54
Romania celebrate gold at Women's Youth World Championship

REVIEW: A more than convincing 32:21 victory against Germany sees Romania topping the podium. Denmark win bronze with 20:19 win against Montenegro

Romania celebrate gold at Women's Youth World Championship

Romania are the new women's youth world champions after an impressive performance saw them toppling Germany 32:21 in the final in the Macedonian city of Ohrid on Sunday.

Denmark took bronze with a 20:19 victory against Montenegro.

Romania went into the final, leaving no doubt straight away which team would dominate the tournament's last match.

Midway through the first half they already led 7:1, and even though Germany weathered the 'Romanian storm' slightly better afterwards, the result still stood at 15:7 in favour of Romania at the break.

At the beginning of the second half Germany once more tried to get back in the game, but Romania continued to hit the net at will and in the end celebrated a deserved 32:21 victory.

Earlier on Sunday Denmark, already bronze medallists at the Women's 17 EHF EURO 2013, had won bronze with a 20:19 win against Montenegro.

Montenegro had the far better start to the game, leading 13:8 at the end of the first half.

But a considerable improvement after the break put Denmark back on track. They took the lead for the first time at 19:18 with four minutes left to play and held onto it until the end of the match.

At the end of the tournament some of the four teams' players were also named into the tournament's All-star team.

Germany's Jessica Jochims was named best goalkeeper, her teammate Emily Bölk received the "most valuable player" award.

Montenegro had the best left wing, Itana Grbic, and the best right back, Durdina Malovic, in their ranks.

Romania's Lorena Ostase was named best line player, Bianca Maria Bazaliu best left back and Cristina Laslo best centre back.

Denmark's Stine Bindlev Holm received the award for best right wing.

Top scorer of the event was Korea's Sojeong Yu with 81 goals.

TEXT: EHF / ts

Content Copyright by the European Handball Federation and EHF Marketing (c) 1994-2018