28.11.2014, 07:54
Knutsdottir nets nine in Iceland's win over Italy

REVIEW: Iceland's 26:17 win on Thursday night puts a huge dent in Italy's hopes to successfully qualify for the Women's World Championship 2015 Qualification Play-offs

Knutsdottir nets nine in Iceland's win over Italy

It was all prepared for a big night of handball in the southern Italy town of Chieti, but Iceland spoiled the party and took home a 26:17 win in the Women's World Championship Qualification.

2,000 spectators had turned out at the Palazzetto dello Sport on Thursday night and were eagerly awaiting the home team taking to the court.

Italy had won their first two matches against FYR Macedonia in Group 3 of the Women's World Championship 2015 Qualification and would have needed another win to put themselves very much in the driving seat en route to the play-offs.

However, their opponents and in particular centre back Karen Knutsdottir crushed Italy's hopes and it now very much looks like as if Iceland were to make it to the play-offs in June 2015.

Iceland led by five (13:8) already at half-time and they extended the lead to nine (26:17) by end of play.

Iceland's centre back Karen Knutsdottir was the night's outstanding player, netting nine goals overall. Italy's most successful scorer was Irene Fanton with five goals.

Another win in the second leg on 30 November in Reykjavik would grant Iceland the top spot in Group 3 and all they would need then is one point from their matches against FYR Macedonia on 3 and 6 December to qualify for the play-offs.

The Women's World Championship Qualification Europe resumes already today (Friday) with Azerbaijan facing Czech Republic in Group 4.

The tournaments in Groups 1 and 2 are played from 3 to 6 December. Only the top ranked team from each group qualifies for the play-offs.

For all matches the EHF live ticker is available.

The next Women's World Championship takes place in December 2015 in Denmark.

TEXT: EHF / ts

Content Copyright by the European Handball Federation and EHF Marketing (c) 1994-2018