13.04.2015, 02:40
Denmark vs Russia again in EHF Cup Final

ROUND REVIEW: Holstebro in second Women's EHF Cup Final in three years

Denmark vs Russia again in EHF Cup Final

It will be a Danish team against a Russian outfit in the final of the Women’s EHF Cup for the second season in a row after Team Tvis Holstebro and Rostov-Don both got the job done in the second leg of the semi-finals this weekend. Lada beat Team Esbjerg in last season's decider.

For the second time in three years Team Tvis Holstebro celebrate qualifying for the final.

The Danish team, who won the tournament in 2013 with an aggregate win against Metz Handball, were practically already in the final before their home game against Muratpasa Belediye SK.

Having won the first match in Turkey 38:25, Holstebro could take things relatively easy in the second leg, where 1,077 spectators in the Graakjaer Arena of Holstebro saw the first half end 11:11.

The hosts managed to win 29:24 thanks to a solid second half performance, in which head coach Niels Agesen took the opportunity to give some of his young players a chance on the court.

“We did not quite hit the level of intensity we would have liked to, but we got things adjusted and secured a clear win – and most important of all we advance to the final,” Niels Agesen told Team Tvis Holstebro´s official website.

Holstebro’s opponents in the final come from Russia. Being four goals up after winning the first leg in Hungary 28:24, Rostov-Don were obviously already close to the final ahead of the return match against ÉRD HC in the Palace of Sport in Rostov-Don.

The Russian top team did make it to the final, but not after certain trouble along the way.

At half-time, ÉRD had caught up with half of Roston-Don’s lead, going 15:13 ahead.

However, spurred on by 2,500 spectators, the home team found another gear after the break and won the second half by six goals to book another four goal win, 32:28 this time.

TEXT: Peter Bruun / cor

Content Copyright by the European Handball Federation and EHF Marketing (c) 1994-2018