09.05.2015, 04:30
Holstebro win EHF Cup despite 11-goal defeat in Russia

FINAL MATCH REVIEW: Rostov-Don came close, but not close enough in second leg of the Women’s EHF Cup final.

Holstebro win EHF Cup despite 11-goal defeat in Russia

Team Tvis Holstebro are the winners of the Women’s EHF Cup for the second time in three years.

After the Danish outfit defeated Metz Handball in the final of the 2012-13 season, they beat Rostov-Don this year, but only after an extremely close call in the second leg in Russia; Rostov-Don were very close to catching up with the Danish 13-goal lead from the first leg.

Women’s EHF Cup final, Leg 2
Rostov-Don (RUS) vs Team Tvis Holstebro (DEN) 33:22 (17:11)
First leg 20:33. Agg. 53:55

Team Tvis Holstebro were missing their head coach Niels Agesen who stayed back in Denmark due to a fear of flying.

Instead, assistant coach Peter Kraytmeyer was in charge of the team, but Kraytmeyer was not to blame for Rostov-Don’s huge rally as they managed to catch up with the Danish side’s huge first leg lead.

Rostov-Don started the game in a frantic tempo, and that gave them a two-goal lead from the start. This lead was increased to four by the middle of the first half, and then to six by half-time.

After the break, the home team more or less steamrolled their opponents.

An aggressive defence ruined the rhythm of the Danish side’s attacking play, and in goal, Sonja Barjaktarovic continued to get better and better.

Rostov-Don managed to score 12 of the 13 goals they needed, at 30:18 and again at 32:20, but the new Russian champions and cup winners did not manage to take that all important last step, and Holstebro go back to Denmark as champions.

Right wing Iulia Managarova of Rostov-Don was top scorer in the match with nine goals.

EHF Cup top scorer Nathalie Hagman, who scored 15 goals in the first match, was Holstebro’s top scorer once again.

This time, the 23-year-old Swedish international scored eight times, from the right wing as well as from her normal position as right back.

TEXT: Peter Bruun / bc

Content Copyright by the European Handball Federation and EHF Marketing (c) 1994-2018