22.05.2015, 09:30
Ups and downs for champions on first day of ebt Finals

REVIEW: Detono Zagreb start with a win, while the OVB - Beach Girls concede an unexpected defeat against Dutch club Westsite

Ups and downs for champions on first day of ebt Finals

The 2015 edition of the ebt Finals has thrown off on Friday with 20 teams competing for beach handball glory in the sands of Budaörs, Hungary.

While the weather was arguably not at its best, the athletes truly were as they showed some fantastic sport right from the start.

In the women's event Dutch side Westsite and local club Agenta Girls enjoyed the best start to the tournament, and in particular the former showed that they are a force to reckon with at this event.

Following a hard-fought 2:1 (11:8, 7:10, 5:4) win against the Beachqueens from Switzerland, the Dutch ladies delivered again and beat defending champions OVB - Beach Girls 2:0 (14:9, 13:12).

With two wins Westsite comfortably sits on top of Group A ahead of the Beachqueens and Detono Zagreb, who both have won and lost one match each.

The table looks similar in Group B in which Agenta Girls beat AC Spartacus Goalbet and Club Balonmano Getasur to get their campaign off to a perfect start. OVB from Hungary and Paksoft Camelot are second and third with two points each.

In the men's event defending champions Detono Zagreb only played one game on Friday and they did not have any problems beating Paksoft Camelot 2:0 (29:8, 26:12).

When the tournament continues on Saturday, their first match in Group A will be against local club Budaörs Beach Stars who won their two games on Friday.

In Group B BHC SKKM-EKATERINODAR tops the table following a 2:0 (17:8, 13:9) win over BHC Cakovec.

The first two teams of each group will qualify for the semi-finals which will be played on Sunday, 24 May.

All matches can be followed with the EHF's live ticker and all main court matches will be streamed live via the official website: http://www.ebtfinal2015.hu/en/live_stream

TEXT: EHF / ts

Content Copyright by the European Handball Federation and EHF Marketing (c) 1994-2018