11.12.2015, 10:26
Europe dominates at Women's World Championship 2015

All 13 European teams participating at the Women's World Championship 2015 in Denmark have made it to the Last 16, with defending champions Brazil being one of three non-European teams still in the mix

Europe dominates at Women's World Championship 2015

After the group phase has come to an end, the Women's World Championship 2015 in Denmark has almost turned into an entirely European affair.

All 13 European teams are still in the mix and have qualified for the Last 16. The three non-European teams left in the competition are Angola, defending champions Brazil and South Korea.

The latter two - Brazil in 2013 and South Korea in 1995 - are the only two non-European teams that have been able to top the podium and win gold at World Championship level to date.

Despite the European dominance, defending champions Brazil still impressed at Denmark, as the South American team remains unbeaten to date.

While they had to be satisfied with a 24:24 draw against South Korea in their first match, they then stepped into gear and won their remaining four matches to eventually top Group C.

France with seven points from five matches came second; Germany struggled big time in their first match against France (20:30), but eventually found their rhythm to finish third with six points. South Korea, also with six points, came fourth.

In Group D Russia became the only team to win all of their five matches including a 26:25 against EHF EURO champions Norway and a 28:26 against EHF EURO silver medallists Spain.

Norway eventually beat Spain in the battle for second rank 29:26, while Romania finished fourth.

In Group A hosts Denmark will face more difficult opponents than probably expected after losing to Hungary 22:29 and to Montenegro 21:23. Three wins in their remaining matches eventually placed them third.

EHF EURO 2012 champions Montenegro topped the group with nine points; Hungary came second with eight points and Serbia finished fourth.

In Group B Sweden's final 49:25 win against Cuba on Friday was not enough to overtake Netherlands at the top of the group; both teams finish the group phase with nine points and Netherlands in first and Sweden in second position.

Poland are third and Angola fourth.

The Last 16 at the Women's World Championship are as follows and will be played on 13/14 December:

Brazil vs Romania

France vs Spain

Russia vs South Korea

Norway vs Germany

Montenegro vs Angola

Hungary vs Poland

Sweden vs Denmark

Netherlands vs Angola

 For more information on the Women's World Championship visit the IHF's website as well the official tournament web presence.

Photos: Jan Christensen / Bent Frederiksen courtesy of DHF

TEXT: EHF / ts

Content Copyright by the European Handball Federation and EHF Marketing (c) 1994-2018