15.02.2016, 10:54
Registration begins for Women’s World Championship 2017

Qualification for nations not qualifying directly to be played in two phases starting in October 2016.

Registration begins for IHF Women’s World Championship 2017 in Germany

Europe’s national federations have been invited to register their participation in the Women’s World Championship, to be played in Germany in December 2017.

Federations have until 18 March 2016 to confirm their interest in playing in the competition.

A total of 24 teams will play in the final tournament including: Norway (defending champions); Germany (organiser); eight performance places (Europe); three teams - Africa; three teams – Asia; three teams - Europe; three teams - Pan America; one team - Oceania (winner of qualification tournament) and one team from the continent of the reigning champion (Europe).

Direct qualification from EHF EURO 2016

Up to three best ranked teams at the Women’s EHF EURO 2016 in Sweden can qualify directly for the World Championship and the remaining nine European places will be decided in Qualification Europe (Phase 1 and Phase 2).

However, depending on the number of federations registering for the competition, the number of nations qualifying directly from EHF EURO 2016 could be reduced to ensure Phase 1 can be played with the required number of teams. A decision will be made once the registration process has been concluded.

Qualification system

World Championship Qualification in Europe will be played in two phases for those teams not qualified directly. Matches will be played on a home and away basis.

Teams playing at the Women’s EHF EURO 2016 in December will join Phase 2, while all other teams will need to make their way through Phase 1.

Phase 1 will be played between October and December 2016 and Phase 2 over two weekends 9-11 June 2017 and 13 – 15 June 2017. The winners of these matches will qualify directly for the World Championship.

The draw for the qualification matches is planned to be held in June 2016.

Matches in six playing venues

The World Championship will be played 1-17 December 2017 in Leipzig, Magdeburg, Bietigheim, Trier, Oldenburg with the semi-finals and finals to be played in Hamburg.

TEXT: EHF / jjr

Content Copyright by the European Handball Federation and EHF Marketing (c) 1994-2018