02.05.2016, 01:20
Two former winners, a semi-final debutant and the hunt for the 3,000th goal

FACTS AND FIGURES: All you need to know prior to the draw of the EHF Cup Finals on Tuesday in Nantes

Two former winners, a semi-final debutant and the hunt for the 3,000th goal

Only four matches remain in the Men’s EHF Cup to decide the winner and the successor of Füchse Berlin.

Besides host Nantes, Chambery, Granollers and Göppingen have reached the final destination of the competition.

Find all major facts, figures and numbers on the Men’s EHF Cup here.

0 winners of the new version of the EHF Cup are among the four participants of the EHF Cup Finals 2016.

0 French male teams have ever won the EHF Cup in the new or the old format or Cup Winners’ Cup.

0 national champions arriving from the VELUX EHF Champions League qualification made it to the quarter-finals.

0 Spanish teams have qualified for the EHF Cup Finals since this new finals format was introduced; now Granollers have come all the way.

0 of those three teams arriving from the quarter-finals have won both knock-out matches.

1 team was host and finalist of the EHF Cup Finals before: HBC Nantes in 2013, when they lost the final against Rhein-Neckar Löwen.

1 pair of brothers fight in two different EHF final tournaments for trophies: Marc Canellas with Granollers in Nantes, Joan Canellas with THW Kiel in the VELUX EHF FINAL4 in Cologne.

1 coach was an EHF Cup winner as a player - and even with the club he coaches now: Carlos Viver (Granollers).

1 coach of the EHF Cup Finals participants has won the EHF Cup as a coach: Ivica Obrvan (Chambery) with Croatian side RK Metkovic - the only non-Spanish or non-German club to win the old format of this competition.

1 team - Chambery - will have their debut in an European Cup semi-final, the remaining three teams have even all been finalists in the EHF Cup.

1 player can complete his cabinet of European Cup trophies: Alberto Entrerrios  (Nantes), who won the EHF Champions League three times with Ciudad Real (2006, 2008, 2009) and the Cup Winners’ Cup twice (in 1993 with Barcelona and in 2003 with Ciudad Real).

1 team - Chambery - turned a first leg defeat in the quarter-finals into a ticket to Nantes, while Göppingen and Granollers lost their second legs.

1 coach of the four participants – again Ivica Obrvan (Chambery) – is parallel coach of a national team: FYR Macedonia. Magnus Andersson (Göppingen) had been coach of the Austrian national team before.

1 team - Chambery - has arrived from the second qualification round and thus have already played 12 matches to make it to Nantes. In contrast, host Nantes only needed eight matches to qualify for the event. Göppingen and Granollers have played ten matches each.

1 player - Göppingen’s new arrival Adrian Pfahl - was on court at the 2015 EHF Cup Finals, but lost it with Hamburg against Berlin.

2 times has La Trocardière Arena in Nantes been the venue for the EHF Cup Finals (after 2013).

2 participants of the 2016 EHF Cup Finals have won the old version of the EHF Cup each twice: Granollers (1995, 1996) and Göppingen (2011, 2012).

2 participants have already been part of EHF Cup Finals: Nantes and Göppingen in 2013.

2 Göppingen players have already won previous EHF Cup Finals: Zarko Sesum (2013 with Löwen) and Peter Tatai (2014 with Szeged)

2 nations are again represented by Iceland and Spain on a coaching level at the EHF Cup Finals and both nations also had the winning coach: Iceland (Gudmundur Gudmundsson/2013 and Dagur Sigurdsson/2015) and Spain (Juan Carlos Pastor/2014).

2 participants of the EHF Cup Finals finished on top of their groups: Nantes (Group B) and Chambery (Group D)

3 nations are represented by the four teams: France (2), Germany and Spain.

3 times in the group phase (and not a single time in the quarter-finals) did spectators see 45 or less goals in a match.

4 goals in aggregate (58:54 of Magdeburg vs Göppingen) was the biggest winning margin in the quarter-finals.

4 players on court in Nantes are EHF Champions Champions League winners: Alberto Entrerrios (2006, 2008, 2009 with Ciudad Real), Valero Rivera Floch (2005 with Barcelona), Michael Kraus (2013 with Hamburg) and Lars Kaufmann (2014 with Flensburg-Handewitt).

4 – like in all previous EHF Cup Finals at least one German team is part of the competition: 2013 Göppingen and Löwen, 2014 Berlin, 2015 Berlin and Hamburg.

4 (all) hosts of the previous and current EHF Cup Finals have skipped the quarter-finals and qualified directly from their ranking in the group phase: HBC Nantes (2013, 2016) and Füchse Berlin (2014, 2015)

4 matches of the group phase - and zero of the quarter-finals - ended with a margin of ten goals or more.

7 matches of the group phase ended with a draw, no teams drew in the quarter-finals.

7 nations have been represented by clubs in all EHF Cup Finals since 2013: Germany (6 teams including 2016), France (4), Denmark (3), Spain (1), Hungary (1), Romania (1) and Slovenia (1).

9 times in group phase matches did spectators see more than 60 goals.

15 matches of the group phase and none of the quarter-finals ended with an away win.

16 times a German team has won the old (14) and the new (2) version of the EHF Cup since the implementation of the competition in the 1993/94 season. Five times the winner came from Spain, once each from Croatia and Hungary.

17 matches of the group phase and the quarter-finals were attended by more than 3000 spectators.

20 goals was the biggest winning margin since the start of the group phase so far, when Göppingen beat OCI Lions (NED) by 40:20.

60 clubs from 37 countries have been involved in the EHF Cup season since the start of the first qualification phase.

71 goals were scored in the match OCI Lions vs Göppingen (31:40) to be the high score since the start of the group phase.

2978 goals have been scored in the EHF Cup since the start of the group phase, 2648 in the group phase and 330 in the quarter-finals.

4765 spectators attended the quarter-final Magdeburg vs Göppingen making it the highest attendance of the season so far.

8965 fans in total attended both legs of the all-German quarter-finals of Göppingen and Magdeburg.

TEXT: Björn Pazen / bc

Content Copyright by the European Handball Federation and EHF Marketing (c) 1994-2018