18.07.2016, 08:17
Double gold for Europe at World Beach Handball Championships

REVIEW: Spain's women and Croatia's men have won the World Beach Handball Championships in Budapest, ending the Brazilian dominance in the sport

Double gold for Europe at World Beach Handball Championships

Eight years after they won the World Beach Handball Championships the first time, Croatia are back at the very top. In the final of the World Championships in Budapest on Sunday, the European champions beat four-time winners and defending champions Brazil 2:0.

Just one hour before the Croatian triumph, Spain had climbed the throne of women's beach handball. The 2008 silver medallists also faced Brazil in the final and beat the defending champions 2:1.

At Men's World Beach Handball Championship level this is the first time since Croatia's victory in 2008 that a European team tops the podium. In the women's event the last European team to win was Norway in 2010.

In the matches for third place Norway won women's bronze, beating Hungary 2:1. The tournament hosts were also left empty-handed in the men's event as Qatar took bronze with a 2:1 win.

All-stars awarded

At the end of the championship the All-star teams for both events were named.

In the women's Norway's Regina Gulbrandsen became best goalkeeper, Spain's Raquel Cano was best right wing, Brazil's Nathalie Sena the best left wing.

The best line player award went to Renata Santiago from Brazil, while Hungary's Renata Csiky was named best specialist and Spain's Maria Luisa Garcia the best defender. The MVP award went to Camila Souza from Brazil.

In the men's event Qatar's Mohsin Yafai was the best goalkeeper, Brazil's Nailson Amaral the best rigt wing and Ivan Juric the best left wing. The Croatian player also received the MVP award.

Attila Kun from Hungary was named best line player. The best specialist went to Brazil's Bruno Oliveira and Hagi Toure from Spain was named best defender.

TEXT: EHF / ts

Content Copyright by the European Handball Federation and EHF Marketing (c) 1994-2018