World Championship

Groups drawn for Women's 20 World Championship Qualification

EHF / ts

Groups drawn for Women's 20 World Championship Qualification

26 teams are vying for nine open spots at the Women's U20 World Championship in Hungary and they all got to know their respective opponents as the qualification draw took place at the EHF Office in Vienna on Tuesday.

France, Russia and Denmark – the teams ranked 1 to 3 at the Women’s 19 EHF EURO 2017 – and Hungary as organisers of the final tournament are already qualified which brings the total number of European participants at the 24-nation event to 13.

In the qualification the first two teams will qualify from groups 1 and 2. From groups 3 to 7, only the respective first ranked team earns a spot at the World Championship.

The qualification tournaments will be played from 23 to 25 March 2018

  Group 1 Group 2 Group 3 Group 4 Group 5 Group 6 Group 7
Row 1 Portugal Croatia Netherlands FYR Macedonia Norway Slovenia Montenegro
Row 2 Spain Romania Sweden Germany Serbia Turkey Switzerland
Row 3 Austria Ukraine Poland Iceland Slovakia Faroe Islands Greece
Row 4 Bulgaria Georgia Czech Republic Lithuania Kosovo xxx xxx

The hosting rights for the qualification tournaments have been drawn in the following order. The first right has gone to row 3, the second to row 2, the third right to 1 and the fourth right to 4

Greece and Slovakia already hosted a qualification tournament of the Women's 19 EHF EURO 2017 and are therefore not eligible to organise the tournament again. The right to organise will therefore goes to Serbia in Group 5 and Switzerland in Group 7.

The Women’s U20 World Championship in Hungary is scheduled from 1 to 15 July 2018.

Latest news

More News