EHF / ts

Women's World Championship 2019 Qualification groups to be drawn at EHF Congress

The EHF Congress 2018 in Glasgow on Tuesday hosts the draw for the first European qualification phase to the Women's World Championship 2019 in Japan.

The draw will take place at 14:30 hrs and is streamed live on the EHF EURO Youtube channel.

16 teams participate in this qualification phase, and they have been seeded in the following pots

  • Pot 1: Belarus, FYR Macedonia, Switzerland, Slovakia, Turkey
  • Pot 2: Faroe Islands, Iceland, Italy, Kosovo, Lithuania, Portugal, Ukraine
  • Pot 3: Azerbaijan, Finland, Greece, Israel

They will be drawn to four groups of four teams each. The winners of groups 1 to 4 will qualify for the World Championship 2019 Play-offs which will be played in June next year.

For more details refer to the draw procedure.

There will be 13 European teams participating at the 24-nation Women's World Championship 2019.

France as 2017 champions are already qualified; they will be joined by the three best ranked teams at the Women's EHF EURO 2018 in France and another nine teams that qualify through the European play-offs.

The playing dates for the Women's World Championship 2019 in Japan are 29 November to 15 December.

Latest news

More News