World Championship

2013 Men's World Championship Qualification


2013 Men's World Championship Qualification

The 2013 Men’s World Championship in Spain (IHF event) will be carried out from 13 to 27 January 2013.

Five European teams have already qualified for the final tournament. Besides title defending champions France and hosting nation Spain the remaining three best ranked teams from EHF EURO 2012 – Croatia, Denmark and Serbia – have their ticket secured.

The remaining nine European places for the final tournament of the 2013 World Championship will be decided in play-off matches between eighteen teams. These consist of the eleven remaining participants from EHF EURO 2012 – Czech Republic, Germany, Hungary, Iceland, FYR Macedonia, Norway, Poland, Russia, Slovenia, Slovakia and Sweden – and the seven winners of their respective qualification groups – Austria, Belarus, Bosnia Herzegovina, Lithuania, Montenegro, Netherlands and Portugal.

On the occasion of the final day at the EHF EURO 2012 in Serbia, the Play-Off fixtures were drawn on 29 January 2012 in Beogradska Arena, Belgrade (SRB).

Qualification Europe – Play-Off Fixtures

Lithuania vs. Poland
Russia vs. Czech Republic
Slovenia vs. Portugal
Slovakia vs. Belarus
Fyr Macedonia vs. Austria
Hungary vs. Norway
Iceland vs. Netherlands
Germany vs. Bosnia Herzegovina
Sweden vs. Montenegro

The first leg matches will be played on 9/10 June 2012 followed by the second leg matches one week later on 16/17 June.

Latest news

More News