Women's EHF EURO 2014 bids


Women's EHF EURO 2014 bids

After the applicants for the 2014 Women’s European Championship withdrew their bids prior to the allocation of the event, the 2010 EHF Congress in Copenhagen decided that the event shall be newly announced to the EHF member federations.

Until 29 October 2010 six European federations – Croatia, Hungary, Iceland, Slovakia, Sweden and Turkey – submit their letter of intent with regard of the organisation of the Women's EHF EURO 2014.

As the deadline for the final bid for the tournament passed on Friday, the EHF has received applications from three remaining candidates:

  • Hungary/Croatia (joint bid)
  • Slovakia
  • Turkey

The EHF will now analyse the bids and start the basic follow-up, containing the possibility to hand in details and further documents on specific topics as well as site inspections of venues not known to the EHF.

After a comprehensive evaluation of the bids and the respective site visits, the EHF Executive Committee will allocate the event at its meeting on 8/9 April 2011 in Vienna (AUT).

Playing period of the final tournament is 07 to 21 December 2014.

Latest news

More News